Centered in the historic St. George District of Staten Island, just steps from the iconic Staten Island Ferry, the St. George Theatre was the most magnificent theatre on Staten Island. Solomon Brill of the Isle Theatrical Company broke ground on a beautiful 2,800 seat venue, in August of 1928 and the doors opened on December 4th, 1929. The cost of the project, which included an attached office complex, was two million dollars, $500,000 of which was for the theatre. Brill, who owned several other theatres on the Island and once owned a nickelodeon with William Fox of 20th Century Fox fame, promised to bring top-of-the-line vaudeville to the borough for an admission fee of 75 cents. He envisioned the St. George as a “dream” show house rivaling Manhattan’s cathedrals of cinema.